Harold Begbie

(1871-1929 / Great Britain)

Biography of Harold Begbie

Edward Harold Begbie (1871–1929), also known as Harold Begbie, was an English author and journalist who published nearly 50 books and poems and contributed to periodicals. Besides studies of the Christian religion, Begbie wrote numerous other books, including political satire, comedy, fiction, science fiction, plays and poetry.

Harold Begbie's Works:

* The Political Struwwelpeter, 1899
* The Story of Baden-Powell: 'The Wolf That Never Sleeps', 1900
* Bundy in the Greenwood, 1902
* Clara in Blunderland, 1902 (New edition 2010, ISBN 978-1-904808-49-7)
* Lost in Blunderland, 1903 (New edition 2010, ISBN 978-1-904808-50-3)
* The life of William Booth, the Founder of the Salvation Army, 1920
* The Bed-Book of Happiness, 1914
* The Mirrors of Downing Street: Some Political Reflections by a Gentleman with a Duster, 1921
* Painted Windows: Studies in Religious Personality, 1922

PoemHunter.com Updates

The Tribute

Not by the valour of Belgium, nor the lightning sabre of France,
Not by the thunder of Britain's Fleet, and the Bear's unchecked advance,
Not by these fears, Lord Kaiser, tho' they shatter a tyrant's lust,
Is your heart most darkly troubled, and your soul brought down to the dust,

But by the great affirming of the lands we have knit as one;
By the love, by the passionate loyal love, of each separate free-born son,
Canada cries 'We are coming!' and Australasia 'We come!'
And you scowl th

[Report Error]