Abraham Moses Klein

Biography of Abraham Moses Klein

Abraham Moses Klein (14 February 1909 – 20 August 1972) was a Canadian poet, journalist, novelist, short story writer and lawyer. He has been called "one of Canada's greatest poets and a leading figure in Jewish-Canadian culture."

Best known for his poetry, Klein also published one novella entitled The Second Scroll in 1951, along with numerous essays, reviews, and short stories. Many of his lesser-known works, including several unfinished novels, were published posthumously in a series of collections from the University of Toronto Press.

Abraham Moses Klein's Works:

New Provinces: Poems of Various Authors (one of six authors in collection) Toronto: Macmillan, 1936.
Hath Not a Jew.... New York, Behrman Jewish Book House, 1940.
Poems. Philadelphia: Jewish Publication Society of America, 1944. The Modern Jewish experience. New York: Arno Press, 1975.
The Hitleriad. Norfolk, CT.: New Directions, 1944.
Seven poems. Montreal, The author, 1947?.
The Rocking Chair and Other Poems. Toronto: Ryerson Press, 1948.
The Second Scroll New York: A.A. Knopf, 1951. (novel) critical edition, 2000.
The Collected Poems of A.M. Klein. Toronto; New York: McGraw-Hill Ryerson, 1974.
Beyond Sambation: Selected Essays and Editorials. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1982.
Short Stories. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1983.
Poesie. Roma [Italy]: Bulzoni, 1984.
The Second Scroll. Marlboro, VT: Marlboro Press, 1985.
Literary Essays and Reviews Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1987.
Doctor Dwarf and Other Poems for Children. Kingston, ON: Quarry Press, 1990.
Complete Poems. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1990.
Notebooks: Selections From the A.M. Klein Papers. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1994.
Selected Poems Seymour Mayne, Zailig Pollock, Usher Caplan ed. Toronto: U of Toronto P, 1997.

PoemHunter.com Updates

[Report Error]