Alice Brown Biography

Alice Brown (December 5, 1856 – June 21, 1948) was an American novelist, poet and playwright, best known as a writer of local color stories. She also contributed a chapter to the collaborative novel, The Whole Family (1908).

She was born in Hampton Falls, New Hampshire and graduated from Robinson Seminary in Exeter in 1876. She later worked as a schoolteacher, but moved to Boston to write full-time in 1884. She first worked at the Christian Register and then, starting in 1885, the Youth's Companion.

She was a prolific author for many years, but her popularity waned after the turn of the century. She produced a book a year until she stopped writing in 1935. She corresponded with Rev. Michael Earls of Holy Cross College and with Father J. M. Lelen of Falmouth, Kentucky, with whom she also exchanged poems. Yale University and Holy Cross now have the only sizable collections of her letters, since she ordered that most of her personal correspondence should be destroyed after her death. Brown died in Massachusetts in 1948.


Fools of Nature (1887)

The Rose of Hope (1896)

The Day of his Youth (1897)

Tiverton Tales (1899)

Margaret Warrener (1902)

The Story of Thyza (1909)

John Winterbourne's Family (1910)

Golden Baby (1910)

The One-Footed Fairy (1911)

The Secret of the Clan (1912)

Robin Hood's Barn (1913)

Vanishing Points (1913)

Children of Earth (1915)

Bromley Neighborhood (1917)

The Prisoner (1916)

The Flying Teuton (1918)

Homespun and Gold (1920)

The Wind Between the Worlds (1920)

One-Act Plays (1921)

Louise Imogen Guiney — a Study (1921)

The Old Crow (1922)

Ellen Prior, verse (1923)

The Kingdom in the Sky (1932)

Popular Poems