Anita Brookner

((1928-2016) / Herne Hill)

Biography of Anita Brookner

Anita Brookner poet

Anita Brookner (born 16 July 1928) is an English language novelist and art historian who was born in Herne Hill, a suburb of London.

In 1967 she became the first woman to hold the Slade professorship at Cambridge University. She was promoted to Reader at the Courtauld Institute of Art in 1977, where she worked until her retirement in 1988.

Brookner published her first novel, A Start In Life in 1981, at the age of 53. Since then she has published a novel approximately every year.

Brookner has not married; and took care of her parents as they aged.

In 1990 she was made a CBE (Commander of the British Empire). She is a Fellow of King's College London and of Murray Edwards College, Cambridge.

Anita Brookner's Works:

A Start in Life (1981, US title The Debut)
Providence (1982)
Look at Me (1983)
Hotel du Lac (1984), won the Booker Prize
Family and Friends (1985)
A Misalliance (1986)
A Friend from England (1987)
Latecomers (1988)
Lewis Percy (1989)
Brief Lives (1990)
A Closed Eye (1991)
Fraud (1992)
A Family Romance (1993, US title Dolly)
A Private View (1994)
Incidents in the Rue Laugier (1995)
Altered States (1996)
Visitors (1997)
Falling Slowly (1998)
Undue Influence (1999)
The Bay of Angels (2001)
The Next Big Thing (2002, US title Making Things Better), longlisted for the Booker Prize
The Rules of Engagement (2003)
Leaving Home (2005)
Strangers (2009)

[Report Error]