Calder Willingham

Biography of Calder Willingham

Calder Baynard Willingham, Jr. (December 23, 1922 - February 19, 1995) was an American novelist and screenwriter. He was a graduate from The Citadel. He cowrote several notable screenplays, including Paths of Glory (1957) and One-Eyed Jacks (1961).

Willingham and Buck Henry were co-credited (but did not collaborate) on the screenplay for The Graduate (1967), which they adapted separately from a novel by Charles Webb; they won a BAFTA Award for Best Screenplay for their work and were also nominated for an Oscar.

Calder Willingham's Works:

End as a Man (1947)
Geraldine Bradshaw (1950)
Gates of Hell (1951)
Reach to the Stars (1951)
Natural Child (1952)
To Eat a Peach (1955)
Eternal Fire (1963)
Providence Island (1969)
Rambling Rose (1972)
The Big Nickel (1975)
The Building of Venus Four (1977)
The Strange One (1957)
Paths of Glory (1957) (with Stanley Kubrick and Jim Thompson)
The Bridge on the River Kwai (1957) (uncredited)
The Vikings (1958)
Spartacus (1960) (uncredited)
One-Eyed Jacks (1961)
The Graduate (1967) (with Buck Henry)
Little Big Man (1970)
Thieves Like Us (1974) (with Robert Altman and Joan Tewkesbury)
Thou Shalt Not Commit Adultery (1978) (TV) (with Del Reisman)
Rambling Rose 1991 Updates

[Report Error]