Christina Stead

(1902_1983 / Rockdale)

Biography of Christina Stead

Christina Stead poet

Christina Stead (17 July 1902 – 31 March 1983) was an Australian novelist and short-story writer acclaimed for her satirical wit and penetrating psychological characterisations. She was born in Rockdale, New South Wales, and died in Sydney.

Christina Stead's Works:

Seven Poor Men of Sydney (1934)
The Beauties and Furies (1936)
House of all Nations (1938)
The Man Who Loved Children (1940)
For Love Alone (1945)
Modern Women in Love (1945) edited with William J. Blake
Letty Fox: Her Luck (1946)
A Little Tea. A Little Chat (1948)
The People with the Dogs (1952)
Dark Places of the Heart (1966)
Cotters' England (1967)
Australian Writers and their work (1969)
The Little Hotel: A Novel (1973)
Miss Herbert: The Suburban Wife (1976)
I'm Dying Laughing: The Humourist (1986)
The Palace With Several Sides: A Sort of Love Story (1986) Updates

[Report Error]