Clarence Lewis

Biography of Clarence Lewis

Clarence Irving Lewis (April 12, 1883 - February 3, 1964), usually cited as C. I. Lewis, was an American academic philosopher and the founder of conceptual pragmatism. First a noted logician, he later branched into epistemology, and during the last 20 years of his life, he wrote much on ethics.

Clarence Lewis's Works:

1918. A Survey of Symbolic Logic. (Internet Archive Eprint.)
1929. Mind and the World Order: Outline of a Theory of Knowledge.
1932. Symbolic Logic (with Cooper H. Langford). Dover reprint, 1959.
1946. An Analysis of Knowledge and Valuation. Open Court.
1955. The Ground and Nature of the Right. Columbia Univ. Press.
1957. Our Social Inheritance. Indiana Univ. Press.
1969 (John Lange, ed.). Values and Imperatives: Studies in Ethics. Stanford Univ. Press.
1970 (Goheen, J. D., and Mothershead, J. L. Jr., eds.). Collected Papers. Stanford Univ. Press.

[Report Error]