Cynthia Rylant

(1954 / West Virginia)

Biography of Cynthia Rylant

Cynthia Rylant poet

Cynthia Rylant (born June 6, 1954) is an American author and librarian. She has written more than 100 children's books, including works of fiction (picture books, short stories and novels), nonfiction, and poetry. Several of her books have won awards, including her novel Missing May, which won the 1993 Newbery Medal, and A Fine White Dust which was a 1987 Newbery Honor book. Two of her books are Caldecott Honor Books.
Many of Rylant's books are about her childhood in Appalachia, her pets, the joys and hardships of family life, and the feelings of loners. Many of her books are written in series. Updates


When he finally died, they kept

them around the house

the longest time,

tripping on them,

arranging them beneath the beds,

[Report Error]