Cyril Edwin Mitchinson Joad

Biography of Cyril Edwin Mitchinson Joad

Cyril Edwin Mitchinson Joad (August 12, 1891 – April 9, 1953) was an English philosopher and broadcasting personality. He is most famous for his appearance on The Brains Trust, an extremely popular BBC Radio wartime discussion programme. He managed to popularise philosophy and became a celebrity, before his downfall in the Train Ticket Scandal of 1948.

Cyril Edwin Mitchinson Joad's Works:

Common Sense Ethics (1921)
Common Sense Theology (1922)
Introduction to Modern Political Theory (1924)
Great Philosophies of the World, Jonathan Cape & Harrison Smith, NY (1930)
Guide to Modern Thought (1933)
Under the Fifth Rib retitled The Book of Joad
Return to Philosophy (1935)
Guide to Philosophy (1936)
The Story of Civilization (1936)
The Testament of Joad (1937)
Guide to the Philosophy of Morals and Politics (1938)
Why War? (1939)
How to Write, Think and Speak Correctly (1939)
God and Evil (1942)
Teach Yourself Philosophy (1944)
The English Counties (1948)
The Recovery of Belief (1952)
Folly Farm (Posthumous 1954)
Dialogue on Civilization

[Report Error]