Deborah DeNicola

Rookie - 31 Points (Richland, Washington)

Biography of Deborah DeNicola

Deborah DeNicola is the author of six books, most recently Original Human published (2010) by WordTech Communications, and her memoir The Future That Brought Her Here (2009) . Deborah edited the anthology Orpheus & Company; Contemporary Poems on Greek Mytholog, from UPNE press. Previous books include Where Divinity Begins from Alice James Books, and four chapbooks, Inside Light, Psyche Revisited, The Harmony of the Next and Rainmakers. Deborah was awarded a National Endowment Fellowship. Among other awards she won The Briar Cliff Review contest, The Packingtown Review’s Analytical Essay Award in 2008, Carpe Articulum’s Poetry Award in 2010 and the Santa Barbara Poetry Contest in 2008. She’s been published in Prairie Schooner, The North American Review, Antioch Review among other journals and in many anthologies including The Best of The Net 2008 Anthology, edited by Dorianne Laux. Her short story “come Alone” won the Carol Bly Award from Deborah’s latest manuscript is Wonderbloom.

Deborah DeNicola's Works:

Original Human, Wordtech Communications 2010
The Future That Brought Her Here: A Memoir of Awakening Nicholas Hays/ibis Press 2009, InsideLight, a chapbook, Finishing Line Press 2007
The Harmony of the Next, Winner Riverstone Press Chapbook Award,2005, Where Divinity Begins, Alice James Books 1994, Psyche Revisited, Winner Embers Chapbook contest,1992, Rainmakers, Coyote Love Press,1984. Updates

Theresa In Ecstasy

after the sculpture by Giovanni Bernini

Bernini's beatific
Mystic, humility's folds
tucked into her robe

like the tubercular vow
caught in her lung.

[Report Error]