John Koethe

(1945 / San Diego)

Biography of John Koethe

John Koethe poet

John Koethe was born on December 25, 1945 in San Diego, and received an A.B. from Princeton and a Ph.D. in Philosophy from Harvard.

He has published six books of poetry: “Blue Vents” (1968), “Domes” (1973), which received the Frank O'Hara Award, “The Late Wisconsin Spring” (1984), “Falling Water” (1997), which received the Kingsley Tufts Award, “The Constructor” (1999), which was a finalist for The New Yorker Book Award and the Lenore Marshall Award, and “North Point North: New and Selected Poems” (2002), which was a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. He is also the author of “Poetry at One Remove: Essays” (2001) and “The Continuity of Wittgenstein's Thought” (1996). Updates

Book X

In the last book of The Republic Plato turns to poetry, implicitly contrasts it with philosophy, and argues that it shouldn't even exist in the ideal city he's meticulously constructed. His reasoning is liable to strike us now as quaint: poets traffic in appearances, not essences, and write of things they don't know anything about, like military st

[Report Error]