Michael Meyerhofer

Biography of Michael Meyerhofer

Michael Meyerhofer poet

Michael Meyerhofer’s book, 'Leaving Iowa', won the Liam Rector First Book Award and is available from
www.amazon.com. His second book, 'Blue Collar Eulogies', is forthcoming from Steel Toe Press. He is also the author of four chapbooks-'Cardboard Urn', 'The Right Madness of Beggars', 'The Clay-Shaper's Husband', and the forthcoming 'Real Courage'. His work has appeared in Ploughshares, Arts & Letters, River Styx, North American Review, Green Mountains Review, MARGIE, Southern Poetry Review, Big Muddy, Flyway, Free Lunch, Diagram, and others. He recently won the James Wright Poetry Award, the Laureate Prize, and the Annie Finch Poetry Prize.

Michael Meyerhofer's Works:

Leaving Iowa (available on Amazon.com)
The Clay-Shaper's Husband (Codhill Press)
Real Courage (Jeane Duval Editions)
The Right Madness of Beggars (Uccelli Press)
Cardboard Urn (available on Amazon.com)

PoemHunter.com Updates

Leaving Iowa

Forget the wrestlers with quick-
silver torsos and Spartan shoulders,

the sheen of cornstalks like secrets
wrapped in green evening gowns,

sunsets that forgive our clichés
of spilled oxblood and lavender,