Roger elkin

Biography of Roger elkin

Roger Elkin was shortlisted for the Bloodaxe New Blood Book-length Competition (1987):
one of 10 shortlisted (out of 4,000 entries) for the Strokestown International Poetry Competition (2003):
and one of 6 shortlisted for the Keele University Poetry Prize(2007) .

He has won over 150 prizes and places – 38 firsts - in (inter) national poetry competitions. His poetry has received
the Lake Aske Memorial Award (1982 & 1987)
the Douglas Gibson Memorial Award (1986)
the Sylvia Plath Award for Poems about Women (1986)
and the Hugh MacDiarmid Trophy (2003) .
He became the first recipient of the Howard Sergeant Memorial Award for Services to Poetry in 1987; and was The Writer’s Rostrum “Poet of the Year,1991”.

Roger elkin's Works:

Pricking Out (Aquila,1988)
Points of Reference (Headland,1996)
Home Ground (Headland,2002)
Rites of Passing (Shoestring,2006)
Blood Brothers (Headland,2005)
No Laughing Matter (Cinnamon Press,2007)
Dog’s Eye View (Lapwing,2009)
Fixing Things (Indigo Dreams,2011) Updates


a rising nearness, a beacon
its blueness a raggy topknot mix
of indigo, azure and violet
that humbles you to silence
as you stumble across its sudden fulness
signalling from wheat-field trespass

Consider its other names:

[Report Error]