David Lewis Paget

Gold Star - 9,373 Points (22.11.1944 / Nottingham, England/live in Australia)

Biography of David Lewis Paget

David Lewis Paget poet

AUSTRALIAN POET. Born in Nottingham, lived in Great Barr, Birmingham, until the age of 13, when migrated to Australia. Lived in Adelaide, joined Air Force at 21 and became Instrument Fitter. Began writing poetry during duty crew and guard weekends. In 1976 fulltime to Flinders University of South Australia, Bachelors degree in English and History. Wrote and published a magazine for the unemployed called 'Bread'. Wrote and published monthly magazines 'Trader's Gate' and 'Central Yorke Peninsula Mercury' for three years in the late 1980's. Ran printing and publishing business Mushroom Graphics until 1990, then Cottage Print until 2005. Gave up poetry for five years, and wrote eight novels in the early 2000's.
Until recently was Teaching English at Wenzhou Medical College, an arm of the Wenzhou University, Zhejiang Province, People's Republic of China. The experience there prompted another foray into poetry, leading to the current narrative style chosen for the second incarnation. Now retired and living in South Australia. Author of the non-fiction 'Arrows from Wenzhou', a detailed account of the twelve months spent in China.
Concentrates these days on narrative poetry.

David Lewis Paget's Works:

Poetry Collections -
Stand Up & Be Counted - 1974
The Venus Bird - 1974
Terra Australis Incognita - 1975
Ishtar - 1977
Bitter Harvest - 1977
Weep - 1980
Inspirators - 1981
Spoils of War - 1984
Cader Rook - 1996
Perspectives in a Black Season - 2003
The Red Knight - 2003
Timepieces - 2009
At Journey's End - 2010
The Demon Horse on the Carousel - 2012
Poems of Myth & Scare - 2012
The Devil on the Tree - 2013
Tales from the Magi - 2013
Taking Root - 2013
The Season of the Witch - 2013
Smugglers Pie - 2013
The Storm and the Tall Ship Pier - 2014
The Book on the Topmost Shelf - 2014
Tall Tales for Tired Times - 2014
Butterflies - 2015

Family History -
In My Father's Words - 1994
Queenie - 1996
Local History -
Of Miners & Methodists - 1988
Fiction -
Cates's Creek - 2001
The Sumner Tontine - 2001
Dark Harbour - 2001
The Afterdeath - 2002
Prittik's Will - 2002
Heaven's Ridge - 2002
Experiment in Fear - 2002
Blackrock Island - 2002
Humour -
Tales of Wudgi Crossing - 2003
Travel -
Arrows from Wenzhou - 2007
DVD's -
China Times Volume I
China Times Volume II
Storytelling Magic in Verse, Volume I
Storytelling Magic in Verse, Volume II
Storytelling Magic in Verse, Volume III
Storytelling Magic in Verse, Volume IV

PoemHunter.com Updates

Death Of An Airman

‘Abis, Ackerman, Benson and Blunt,
Stand to attention and look to the front,
Chiswell and Barnett
Who told you to fall out,
You’d think this was bush week
Or a Boy Scout Camp call-out;
Get back into line or I might have you all out
Did you hear what I said to you, Argent? ’

[Report Error]