Frank Dalby Davison

(23 June 1893 - 24 May 1970 / Hawthorn, Victoria)

Frank Dalby Davison
Do you like this poet?
4 person liked.
0 person did not like.

Frank Dalby Davison poems, quotations and biography on Frank Dalby Davison poet page. Read all poems of Frank Dalby Davison and infos about Frank Dalby Davison.

Frank Dalby Davison, also known as F.D. Davison and Freddie Davison, was an Australian novelist and short story writer. Whilst several of his works demonstrated his progressive political philosophy, he is best known as "a writer of animal stories and a sensitive interpreter of Australian bush life in the tradition of Henry Lawson, Joseph Furphy and Vance Palmer." His most popular works were two novels, Man-shy and Dusty, and his short stories.

Life

Davison was born in Hawthorn, Victoria, and christened as Frederick Douglas Davison. His father was Frederick Davison, a printer, publisher, editor, journalist and writer of fiction; and his mother was Amelia, née ... more »

Click here to add this poet to your My Favorite Poets.





Comments about Frank Dalby Davison

There is no comment submitted by members..
Best Poem of Frank Dalby Davison

The Children Of The Mist

Through the valleys, softly creeping
‘Mid the tree-tops, tempest-tossed,
see the cloud-forms seeking, peeping
For the loved ones that are lost.
Not for storm or sunshine resting,
Will they slacken or desist,
Or grow weary in their questing
For the children of the mist.

Where are those children hiding?
Surely they will soon return,
In the gorge again abiding
‘Mid the myrtle and the fern.
Ah! the dusky forms departed
Nevermore will keep their tryst,
And the clouds, alone, sad-hearted,
mourn the Children of the Mist.

E’en the...

Read the full of The Children Of The Mist