O Anna Niemus

All 6 Virginia Presidents Were Slaveholders - Poem by O Anna Niemus

The 2008 election wiped out some ancient karma as Virginia
voted for an African American for President of the US.

Every one of Virginia's 6 presidents was a slaveholder
(Washington, Jefferson, Madison, Monroe, Tyler, Taylor) while the
New Jersey resident Woodrow Wilson (claimed by Virginia
because he was born there) frequently ridiculed African Americans
publicly as president of Princeton and would later as president
ban African Americans from federal jobs, though Harrison,
McKinley, Roosevelt and others had appointed blacks.

Virginia fought with the South in the Civil War.

Virginia likes to claim
Wm Henry Harrison but he was a resident of Ohio
when elected. Virginia, home of the CIA and Pentagon, still hunting
foxes though Britain has outlawed traditional fox hunting,
has often been 2nd only to Texas in executions, with
3 to 4 times as many blacks as whites on death row

1) George Washington
2) Thomas Jefferson
3) James Madison
4) James Monroe
5) John Tyler
6) Zachary Taylor
7) Woodrow Wilson

Virginia has not had a president since 1850.

Listen to this poem:

Comments about All 6 Virginia Presidents Were Slaveholders by O Anna Niemus

There is no comment submitted by members..

Read this poem in other languages

This poem has not been translated into any other language yet.

I would like to translate this poem »

word flags

What do you think this poem is about?

Poem Submitted: Tuesday, August 26, 2008

Poem Edited: Friday, November 28, 2008

[Report Error]