Edwin Atherstone

Explore Poets GO!
Edwin Atherstone (1788–1875) was a poet and novelist. His works, which were planned on an imposing scale, attracted some temporary attention and applause, but are now forgotten. His chief poem, The Fall of Nineveh, consisting of thirty books, appeared at intervals from 1828 to 1868.

He also produced two novels, The Sea Kings in England and The Handwriting on the Wall.
Popular Poems
The Fall Of Nineveh. Book The Sixth
Meantime, within the royal maiden's bower--
Hurriedly met, in fear and trembling hope,--
Sat Dara and Nehushta. That sweet spot
The Fall Of Nineveh. Book The Fifth
Within his splendid chamber; by all flowers
Of fragrance rare and exquisite perfumed;
Beneath a silken canopy, gold--dropped,
The Last Days Of Herculaneum.
It was a day of gloom, and strange suspense,
And feverish, and inexplicable dread,
In Herculaneum's walls. The heavy, thick,
The Fall Of Nineveh. Book The Fourth
Sunrise: Assyrian soldiers from their tents
Come forth to worship; but, when from their knees
Arising, they look round, lo! where, at eve,
The Fall Of Nineveh. Book The Nineteenth
On the next morrow, to the spacious plain
South of the city, Salamenes led
The Assyrian army,--for no foe was there,--


Delivering Poems Around The World

Poems are the property of their respective owners. All information has been reproduced here for educational and informational purposes to benefit site visitors, and is provided at no charge...

5/15/2021 12:57:07 AM #