Amera Andersen

Rookie (12/03/81 / New Jersey)

Mind Movement #4 - Poem by Amera Andersen

reflecting under the boughs unfurling
gazing skyward and tasting pins of light
a radiant glimmer shown like sterling
as a flock of moonbeams trip in my sight

whispering movements as a string quartet
as they rest aloft their separate branches
leaves, dancing with wind in a silhouette
and time stands still as the twilight blanches

a cumulus cluster filters leaf light
‘tis an origami of twilight opera
and my mind drinks a smile in delight
to imagine the mythical hydra

floating in memories, my reflections
crescendo of soul, natures’ connections

Author notes

Sonnets are formal poems and consist of 14 lines (3 quatrains and a couplet) , traditionally written in iambic pentameter - that is, in lines ten syllables long, with accents falling on every second syllable.

Listen to this poem:

Comments about Mind Movement #4 by Amera Andersen

  • (8/9/2008 9:50:00 AM)

    To those so constricted
    by rules of rhyme and reason
    Who write sonnets pure
    In any season:

    It's a pleasure to find
    Someone who has the presence of mind
    To express themselves so well
    And to the others (sonnet or no) - they can go to hell!

    (Report) Reply

    0 person liked.
    0 person did not like.
Read all 1 comments »

Read this poem in other languages

This poem has not been translated into any other language yet.

I would like to translate this poem »

word flags

What do you think this poem is about?

Poem Submitted: Thursday, July 26, 2007

Poem Edited: Thursday, March 24, 2011

[Report Error]